Wow! I received my first ever rejection from a paying market a few days back. For my Beneath a Violent Sky story. And it feels.....great!
It was a hurdle that I really needed to get over. What I'm going to do next is tidy up that story (I can always find a way to improve something, no matter how many times I return to it!) and re-submit it someplace else. I aim to get a few other things together over the course of the next months so that I have a number of stories in circulation at any one time. That will get the rejections coming in thick and fast!

In other news, I managed to break my duck for this month with a 1000 word flash fic piece for a contest on SFFWorld. I'll probably put that on here when the contest is over. In the meantime I could probably get around to uploading my entry from last month.

Always so much to do!
4/11/2013 07:12:59 am

Congrats on the rejection, Nils! Just keep polishing and firing them out, soon enough one will stick!

Reply
Nils Durban
4/14/2013 02:46:30 am

Thanks, Wilson. That's the aim! As soon as I can get myself out of the rut I'm stuck in this month.

Reply
5/29/2013 02:10:33 am

April, man, where's the new updates? ;)

Reply
Nils
5/30/2013 04:52:47 am

I know, mate. It's appalling isn't it. I haven't written, read, reviewed or posted a single thing anywhere it what must now be two months. Where's the commitment, you ask? Elsewhere, obviously, which has been a perpetual aspect of my existence but, of late, other matters, both at home and at work, have taken complete precedence.
Do I vow to return? Of course I do.
When will that be? Can't say. You'll have to leave that with me.
Perhaps I could take a peek at your own site (and maybe Sean's) to at least get the ball rolling again.

Reply
6/4/2013 01:30:03 am

Not appalling at all, just hope you find the time to get back in the swing of things.

As to my site, I had a week or two downtime myself, but I'm working to get the serial fiction moving into Part 2.

Nils
6/10/2013 05:18:45 am

I'll get myself over there and catch up, Wilson




Leave a Reply.