Have been blogging with some writer friends the last couple of days and one of them mentioned that he was trying to dedicate himself to writing a minimum of 500 words each day, a tip that he'd picked up from one Terry Pratchett, no less! Sounded like a good challenge to me, as I am in desperate need of a word count boost just at the moment. Got to it last night and got a short flash fic piece done (800 words or so) for an online contest in about thirty minutes flat. Surprisingly, when I revisited it today, I couldn't see anything that I wanted to change, so perhaps speed writing can actually work! Anyway, I need to decide on what to have a go at tonight. There is a short story that needs attending to for another contest, although my outline for this is sketchy at least. And then there is SOTS which obviously needs to be moved on (mustn't let the momentum waver!!). On the subject of SOTS, by the way, I can advise that I am in the middle of rebooting the whole thing as it currently stands. I've received some massively helpful critique from fellow writers of late, the upshot of which is that the first few chapters are currently being overhauled, as well as re-ordered into a more sensible chronological time frame. It has always been in the back of my mind that this would be required because the prologue and the first two chapters were actually written as standalone, albeit, interlinked stories. More on that in due course anyway. What it does make slightly daunting is the prospect of pushing on with further chapters whilst the beginning of the thing still needs tidying up. Hmmm, maybe it's that short story after all for tonight ;)

ND
3/27/2013 06:35:24 am

Might want to update your links too, Nils. I got all excited when I visited the repository of serial fiction only to realize it hadn't been updated in a couple years. :)

Reply
Nils Durban
3/29/2013 09:20:49 am

Yeah, I'll be updating that section soon enough, Wilson. I'll be sure to add your site to it - you're pretty current ;-)

Reply



Leave a Reply.